top of page


The Detroit Public Safety Academy will offer a unique curriculum that is substantively different from other educational models. The intent is to provide an inimitable integration of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), formally adopted by the State of Michigan, the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES) and the six pillars of character education.

Students in grades 9 - 12 will choose from a variety of elective classes including Constitutional Law, Criminal Justice, Legal Writing, Law and Literature, and Forensic Science.  The framework for DPSA  not only ensures college and career readiness but offers a cutting edge advantage in a career in law enforcement and fire protection technology industry.


Common Core State Standards (CCSS)
These standards define the knowledge and skills students should have within their K-12 education careers so that they will graduate high school able to succeed in entry-level, credit-bearing academic college courses and in workforce training programs.

Character Education
Respect. Responsibility. Integrity. Initiative. Service. Sacrifice. Leadership. The Seven Pillars of Character are ethical values that  guide choices. The standards of conduct that arise out of those values constitute the ground rules of ethics, and therefore of ethical decision-making. The Seven Pillars is believed to dramatically improve the ethical quality of students decisions, and thus their character and lives.  Students at the academy will wear police cadet-type uniforms to reinforce responsibility and order.

Physical Fitness
The curricula will emphasize physical and mental fitness through training, drills, formations, chain of command, etc. to support the academic instruction and instill a sense of respect and citizenship.

bottom of page